Press release: GRCC Board of Trustees accepting applications for open board seat

Leah Nixon
Director of Communications

May 10, 2013 GRAND RAPIDS, Mich.  - The Grand Rapids Community College Board of Trustees will be filling an open seat after the resignation of longtime board member Terri Handlin, who has resigned due to family obligations.

Candidate applications are being accepted through June 3, 2013 and may be submitted by mail to Grand Rapids Community College ATTN: Kathy Mullins, Executive Deputy to the President and Board Liaison, 143 Bostwick Ave., NE, Grand Rapids, MI 49503. Applications may be submitted in person to Ms. Mullins at 415 E. Fulton St., Grand Rapids, MI 49503. Application interviews by the GRCC Board of Trustees will commence immediately, and a new trustee to fill the vacancy will be selected from this applicant pool no later than July 1, 2013.

The Board of Trustees will be following protocol set forth by the Michigan Community College Act to fill the vacancy. The act states that a board vacancy may be filled by a candidate from the district by a majority vote of the board through an application submission and interview process.

The candidate selected to fill the vacancy will take his or her seat on Sept. 1, 2013 and complete Handlin’s term, which runs through Dec. 31, 2014.

“Our goal is to fill the vacancy as soon as possible so that there is a smooth transition,” GRCC President Dr. Steven C. Ender said. “As we near our 100-year anniversary, and the many activities and events being planned to celebrate our century mark, it is important that we are able to welcome a new trustee and bring he or she up-to-speed. Moving forward this will ensure the board has a seamless operation.”

Grand Rapids Community College, established in 1914, offers opportunities for more than 30,000 students annually in degree courses, certification and training programs, workshops and personal enrichment classes. GRCC holds classes on the downtown Grand Rapids campus as well as several locations throughout Kent and Ottawa counties.