Awards presented at Student Leadership Banquet

A Raider Buzz feature: 

Awards were given by departments and the Student Life office during last week’s Student Leadership Banquet:

Biology Department.

  • Outstanding Biology Student of the Year — Marcus Barissi.

Physical Sciences Department

  • Student of the Year for Excellence in Chemistry — Christopher Klap.
  • Student of the Year for Excellence in Geology — Katie Schumann.
  • Student of the Year for Excellence in Physics — Sam Johnson.

Mathematics Department

  • Math Perseverance Award — William Palmer.
  • Math Perseverance Award — Nettie Villarreal.
  • Outstanding Mathematics Award — Jason Ross.

Exercise Science Department

  • Exercise Science Student of the Year — Brett Meyers.
  • Wellness Student of the Year –Jeralee Huntoon.

Social Sciences Department

  • Student Research Paper Competition first-place winner — Alex Allen for “Revolution from the Black Earth and Up: Russian Anarchism’s Ideological Fissure with Marxist-Leninism in 1917.”
  • Student Research Paper Competition second-place winner — Anna Reynolds for “The Masculine Muscle of American Diplomacy: Understanding Gendered Motives behind the Incursion of Cambodia.”
  • Student Research Paper Competition third-place winner — Ian Ezinga for “Social Injustice and the Deficiency of Public Housing in Mexico City.”

Music Department

  • Emerging Music Student Academic Leadership Award — Ben Ferrell.
  • Distinguished Music Student Academic Leadership Award — Michaella Braamse.

Athletic Department

  • Donald R. Black Male Student-Athlete of the Year — Zachary Pangborn.
  • Donald R. Black Female Student-Athlete of the Year — Makayla Beld.
  • Merle Storr Student Leadership Award — Lauren Helsen.

Student Life awards 

  • Brian Kloet Campus Involvement Award — Cale Merdzinski.
  • Benham Service and Civic Engagement Award — Raydale Bonivel.
  • Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Award — Kyezie Bwanangela.
  • Cedric and Sandy Ward Leadership Award — Marcus Barissi.
  • Jerry Benham Award for Staff or Faculty — Erin Busscher.
  • New Student Organization of the Year — Native American Student Organization.
  • Project, Program, or Event of the Year — Phi Theta Kappa’s Honors in Action project.
  • Organization of the Year —  StandOut.
Media Contact