Past Emeritus Award

Laurie Foster

2019 Faculty Emeritus Winner

Laurie Foster

Grand Rapids Community College’s 2019 Faculty Emeritus has taught at all levels and using all methods.

Laurie Foster has taught elementary and middle school students, high schoolers, college students, teachers and her fellow faculty members in the classroom, out of the classroom and online.

Foster retired in 2016 as a full professor after working for 25 years in the Biological Sciences Department. She had a gift for making her subject relevant to students at all levels, whether they were enrolled in Honors Biology or General Biology for non-science majors. Her skills in the classroom have been recognized at the college, state, and national levels. She received GRCC’s Excellence in Education Award and Biology Teacher of the Year honors from the Michigan Science Teachers Association.

Read more about Laurie Foster...

Year Award Winner
2018 Fátima Nieves
2017 Dr. Joseph Hesse
2016 Walter Lockwood
2014 Paul Chardoul
2013 Dr. Gary Burbridge
2012 Dr. Velvie Green
2011 Marilyn Smidt
2010 Cornelius Eringaard
2009 Charles Chamberlain
2008 Roger DeVries
2007 Keith Longberg, President Emeritus Richard Calkins
2006 Granville Brown
2005 Dr. Richard Kurzhals
2004 Ms. Alice Donahue
2003 Ms. Phyllis Fratzke, Dr. Till Peters
2002 Ms. Nancy Clouse
2001 Mr. James Skidmore
2001 Ms. Bobbi Schrader
2000 Mr. James Skidmore
1999 Ms. Anne E. Mulder, Ph.D.
1998 Mr. Harvey Olsen
1997 Mr. Harvey Meyaard
1996 Dr. Allen G. Gerrard
1995 Mr. Francis J. McCarthy
1994 Mr. Anthony LaPenna
1993 Dr. Marinus Swets
1992 Dr. Albertus H. Elve
1991 Mr. Leonard Anderson, Mr. John Regenmorter
1990 Dr. Raymond Boozer, Mrs. Lucille Thomas
1989 Dr. Anne V. Miller, Mr. O. Stewart Myers
1987 Mr. Gordon Hunsberger, Mr. Richard Wherity
1986 Mr. E. Ray Baxter, Mr. Wendell Shroll
1985 Mrs. Alecia Bowles DuRand, Mr. Albert Smith