Internships

GRCC baking instructor working with culinary students.

An internship is a course which is a supervised, professional experience guided by learning outcomes that build on and enhance previous coursework. Internships allow students to make connections in the professional fields they are considering for career paths. Internships also provide employers with an opportunity to guide and evaluate talent.

GRCC internships are capstone experiences and generally a one-time, one semester, paid work experience. Who benefits from internships? The student intern, the employer and the community.

Employers

Posting internships

Internships are posted through Student Employment Services. Visit Raider Jobs, an online tool used by colleges and universities nationwide, to post a position for our students, former students and alumni.

Students

You may be eligible for an internship if you:

  • Are currently enrolled as a GRCC student.
  • Have completed coursework in the discipline related to the internship.
  • Receive approval from your department or instructor, depending on whether the internship is for academic credit.
  • Complete and submit all the necessary paperwork to your department prior to the start of the internship.

Contacts for each department:

Department Name Email
Business Brent Spitler bspitler@grcc.edu
Computer Information Systems Andrew Rozema arozema@grcc.edu
Criminal Justice - Corrections Nikki Banks nbanks@grcc.edu
Criminal Justice - Juvenile Services Nikki Banks nbanks@grcc.edu
Criminal Justice - Law Enforcement Gary Ebels gebels@grcc.edu
Culinary Arts Bob Schultz bschultz@grcc.edu
HVAC Donald Steeby dsteeby@grcc.edu
HVAC Ron Stevenson rstevenson@grcc.edu
Manufacturing Scott Lampe slampe@grcc.edu
Automotive Chad Lodenstein clodenst@grcc.edu

Employer Coordinated Internships

Students taking courses in a non-credit curriculum also have the opportunity to work with faculty to find an internship placement that is employer coordinated. Although not taken for credit, these internships are also a supervised, professional experience guided by learning outcomes that give students an opportunity to make professional connections.

5 Steps to Obtain an Internship Experience

The Search

Just as you may need to do some searching for a job after you graduate, you may need to do some searching for an internship. Job Fairs, Student Employment Services, your own networking and instructor contacts are all helpful places to start your search. 

The Preparation

You will want to complete a professional resume and practice interview skills. Need some advice? Check out the resources available at Student Employment Services. Check out their Interviewing Tips and Resume Workbook.

The Approval

Students in non-credit courses will want to get faculty approval for an internship prior to interviewing with an employer so that learning outcomes will be mutually agreed upon. 

Students in credit courses will want to interview and receive an internship offer and then seek departmental approval to enroll in the course. 

The Packet

Once an employer offers an internship and learning goals are approved by your faculty advisor, remember to sign and submit all necessary forms.

The Experience

You are ready to go to work. This is an important step in the development of your professional career pathway. Remember to promptly complete and submit any required reports. Evaluation and feedback is an important part of your experience too!