Past Winners

2018 - 2019 Winners:

First Place - Logan Oostdyk with the paper titled, 'A Historical Investigation into the Economic Drivers for the Crusades'

Second Place - Alex Allen with the paper titled, 'Interrogating Power: Torture as a Tool of Suppression in Central America and the United States Mexico Border'

Third Place - Lynnea Schutter with the paper titled, 'Considering Causation for the Poverty in Guatemala'

2017 - 2018 Winners:

First Place - Alex Allen with the paper titled, "Revolution From the Black Earth and Up: Russian Anarchism's Ideological Fissure with Marxist-Leninism in 1917."

Second Place - Anna Reynolds with the paper titled, "The Masculine Muscle of American Diplomacy: Understanding Gendered Motives Behind the Incursion of Cambodia."

Third Place - Ian Ezinga with the paper titled, "Social Injustice and the Deficiency of Public Housing in Mexico City."

2016 - 2017 Winners:

First Place - Luke Fortier for his paper titled "The Evolution of Gender in Early Psychoanalysis".

Second Place - Joseph Voorhorst for his paper titled "Champion of Self Interest".

Third Place - Stephanie Laguerre for her paper titled "Haiti: The Black Sheep of Hispaniola".

2015 - 2016 Winners:

First Place - Catharine Trachsel for her paper titled “Knowledge Threatened Through Indifference: The Importance of Weaving to the Inca People and How Hegemony and Patriarchy Sought to Destroy It."

Second Place - Joe Voorhorst for his paper titled “Institutes of Virtue."

Third Place - Grace Marz for her paper titled “Bacteria and Religion."

2014 - 2015 Winners:

First Place - Eyssy Moore for her paper titled "Banana Incorporated: Corporate Interests, US Foreign Policy and Perpetual Poverty in Central America."

Second Place - Gretchen Robinson for her paper titled "Israel’s Power to Influence."

Third Place (tie): Melissa Foster for her paper titled "The Criminal Mind."  &  Carla Villasana-Acosta for her paper titled "Pablo Escobar: The Influence and Control of a Drug Lord in Colombia."

2013 - 2014 Winners:

First Place - Peter Witkowski for his paper titled "The Sour Fruit of Revolution".

Second Place - Lindsay Jones for her paper titled "The Portrayal of Women in Ancient Theatre".

Third Place - Benjamin Heyn for his paper titled "Feminism and Power in Global Politics".

2012 - 2013 Winners:

First Place - Allison Henley for her paper titled "A Sociological Perspective of Mental Illness".

Second Place - Angela Stoddard for her paper titled "The Power to Rule Religiously is the Religious Rule of Power".

Third Place - Christopher Maddalena for his paper titled "A Blame Game: Why Society Copes with Tragedies through Scapegoats".