Skip to main content

The 41st GIANT Awards was held on Saturday, Feb. 3, 2024 at 6 p.m. at the DeVos Place Ballrooms in Grand Rapids. 

Dr. Patricia Pulliam and Cedric Ward in 1983 created this event to recognize African Americans who are exceptional leaders who have shaped the history, quality of life, and the culture of our West Michigan communities. We stand on the shoulders of these giants and salute their accomplishments. We honor them, and look to inspire others to follow in their steps and be the leaders of tomorrow. 

Proceeds from the annual event benefit the Junior GIANT Scholarship and Milo M. Brown Memorial Scholarship. The Junior GIANT Cedric Ward Leadership Scholarship and the Junior GIANT Dr. Patricia Pulliam Leadership Scholarship was established in 2017. The Milo M. Brown Memorial Scholarship was established in 1987 by Michael Johnson and Mylece Brown Wilson.

Submit a Pre-Nomination

Please note: Nominations for the 2024 GIANT Awards were accepted until 5 p.m. on Oct. 31, 2023. 

Press Releases:

41st Annual GIANT Awards

A video presentation of the 41st GIANT Awards, held on Feb. 3, 2024.  


2024 Award Recipients

Rev. Jerry Bishop

Rev. Jerry Bishop | Founder of LifeQuest Urban Outreach

GIANT Among Giants Award


Valissa Armstead

Valissa Armstead | Senior director of diversity and inclusion at Corewell Health

The Raymond Tardy Community Service Award


Debra Bates

Debra Bates | Owner and administrator for Choice Business Systems Inc. and owner of MeMe’s Foundation Boutique

The Milo Brown Business Award


George Bayard III

George Bayard III | Artist, owner of Bayard Gallery of Fine African American Art & Books, and executive director of the Grand Rapids African American Museum and Archives

Ethel Coe Humanities Award


Tasha Blackmon

Tasha Blackmon | President and CEO of Cherry Health

The Eugene Browning Medical Service Award


Jimmy Carter

Jimmy Carter | Former head coach for East Kentwood High School’s girls basketball team

Walter Coe Public Service Award


Jamie Gordon

Jamie Gordon | Executive director of human resources for Kentwood Public Schools 

The Phyllis Scott Activist Award


Kristian Grant

Kristian Grant | The first African American woman to represent Grand Rapids in the state House

William Glenn Trailblazer Award


Rev. Charles Hudson III

Bobby Springer | Associate director of Veterans Upward Bound at Grand Valley State University and director of MI GEAR UP

The W.W. Plummer Humanitarian Award


Latesha Lipscomb

Latesha Lipscomb | Director of engagement and relationships at Amplify GR

Floyd Skinner Justice Award


Inez Smith

Inez Smith | Retired teacher

Hattie Beverly Education Award


Bobby Springer

The Rev. Charles Hudson III | President and CEO of C.H. Hudson Outreach Ministries 

The H.C. Toliver Religious Life Award


Caebre Baty

Caebre Baty | Cedric Ward Leadership Scholarship


Nas Brooks

Nas Brooks | Cedric Ward Leadership Scholarship


Rallah Cobbins

Rallah Cobbins | Dr. Patricia Pulliam College Leadership Scholarship


Kyle Greer

Kyle Greer | Milo M. Brown Memorial Scholarship 


McKenzye Sterk

McKenzye Sterk | Milo M. Brown Memorial Scholarship