Advising Information

Culinary students meeting with the chef

Secchia Institute for Culinary Education Advising Plan

Department:   Secchia Institute for Culinary Education

Office Location:  117 ATC

Office Phone:  616-234-3690

Contact:  Werner Absenger, Program Director; Marcia Arp, Academic Secretary

Email address:  wernerabsenger@grcc.edu or marp@grcc.edu

Office Hours:  7:30 a.m.-4:30 p.m.

Department Head: Werner Absenger

Majors Advised:

Culinary Arts (AAAS)

Culinary Arts (certificate)

Baking and Pastry Arts (certificate)

Personal Chef (certificate)

Craft Brewing (certificate)

Preferred Method of Contact:   E-Mail

*Students in Laboratory Class:

Students in a culinary laboratory class should meet with their laboratory professor for advising.

*Students Not Enrolled in a Laboratory Class:

Please contact one of the professors below to set-up an appointment for advising.

Culinary Arts (A.A.A.S or Certificate)

Sasha Ahmed (sahmed@grcc.edu) 616-234-3695

Kevin Dunn (kdunn@grcc.edu) 616-234-3704

Dan Gendler (dgendler@grcc.edu) 616-234-3708

Charles Olawsky (colawsky@grcc.edu) 616-234-3703

Bob Schultz (bschultz@grcc.edu) 616-234-3706

Holly VanRyn (hollyvanryn@grcc.edu) 616-234-3699

Michael Whitman (mwhitman@grcc.edu) 616-234-3707

Baking and Pastry Arts Certificate

Wilfredo Barajas (wilfredobarajas@grcc.edu) 616-234-3712

Audrey Heckwolf (aheckwol@grcc.edu) 616-234-3705

Gilles Renusson (grenusso@grcc.edu) 616-234-3693

Personal Chef Certificate

Audrey Heckwolf (aheckwol@grcc.edu) 616-234-3705

Craft Brewing, Packaging and Service Operations Certificate

Jacob Brenner (jacobbrenner1@grcc.edu) 616-234-2217

Transfer Credit Questions: 

Werner Absenger (make appointment through SICE Office or by calling 616-234-3690)

Students who are in the process of completing the Restaurant Management Associate Degree should make an appointment with Werner Absenger, Program Director by September 1, 2018 to develop a plan to complete these classes.

Advising FAQs